The Blog Begins!

Hello, and thank you for looking at our blog. My name is Neil Sharp and I will be managing the blog and would welcome any feedback and suggestions, especially with regard to what you would like included and any specific topics that you would like addressed by Anat and her staff.

My background is that I trained as an M.D. in the U.K. and subsequently left medicine to pursue a career in music, principally as an opera singer. It was through my singing that I discovered Anat’s work. Initially I was looking for something to help me through a vocal crisis but during my first experience of the work I realized that the powerful changes that I was experiencing were mediated through my brain and nervous system; however, I had NO idea as to how it worked! Nothing in my medical training prepared me for what I felt but it was immediately clear to me that its potential application for physical therapy and rehab was huge and that it should be available in every hospital of every city of every country of the world. I was dismayed to find how far this is from the case. I determined to undertake the training, both with a view to satisfying my curiosity as to an explanation of what I felt and in order to raise awareness and help promote the availability of work of such widespread potential benefit.

It was not until I applied for the training that I learned of the application for working with children with special needs, and watching the DVD of “Carter” was overwhelming.

The changes I witnessed were so remarkable that my medical skepticism was severely tested. “Surely this is not possible?” I thought. I decided to take the first segment of the basic training to see what “this woman,” Anat Baniel, was all about. Suffice it to say, I was once more overwhelmed, this time by her brilliance, passion and skill both as a practitioner and as a teacher. It was the beginning of a truly magical relationship and I now have the honor to count this extraordinary person not just as my teacher but also as a colleague and a friend.

As of October 2007, I was granted a visa to work for Anat as Research Coordinator, in which capacity I see both children and adults at the center. It really is life-enhancing to practice this work and to see what is possible, often where, before, there was little hope.

Over the next few days, weeks, months and years my aim is to enable you to gain a sense of what we do, introduce you to life at the Anat Baniel Method centers in San Rafael, San Jose and that soon to be opened in New York, to some of the trainers, practitioners, students, parents and children, to keep you posted of developments in our wider community and to open a forum for you to ask and have your questions answered.

I am very excited to be involved in this blog and am looking forward to making it fertile ground for the growth of ideas and the spread of knowledge.

Until tomorrow,

Best wishes,

Neil Sharp, M.D.

P.S. You may be wondering who the little boy in the photo is. Well, his name is Kai, and he too has a blog!

6 Responses

  1. Not a comment but a request for co-operation. I am aware of Anat Baniel’s work for some years now and really wlecome this blog. We are in the process of setting up a school of modern equitation and would like to offer movement classes for students and anyone who comes to La Boulaye/Normandy to train. Please be in touch for further details. Best, C.

    Association of Interdisciplinary Studies
    Chateau de la Boulaye
    F-50680 Cerisy-la-Foret
    France

  2. Hooray! Thank you so much Neil for your willingness to jump into the blog world. I know it will go “swimmingly”! I look forward to seeing what you get organized here. Thanks also for the link to the ABM San Jose “Moving and Learning” blog.

  3. Hi Christine,

    It is great to hear from you and to know that we have an audience in France. One of our practitioners has just moved to Paris and I will pass your information onto him. We also have practitioners in the U.K who may be prepared to travel in order to put on a workshop and in the next year or so I hope to bring Anat to Europe.

    I will do everything I can to facilitate and will be in the U.K. myself from the end of Novemeber until New Year.
    I look forward to helping make something happen,

    Best wishes,

    Neil

    neil@anatbanielmethod.com

  4. Are you currently working in the uk?

  5. because im looking for a practitioner in the uk..

Leave a Reply

